In 1908, past students and masters of TBHS rugby football formed a club. One team was entered in the SCRFU competition playing 3rd grade. In 1909, the club recessed due to lack of player numbers.

After a lapse of ten years, an enthusiastic band of Timaru High School Old Boys again decided that the time was opportune for the formation of a new rugby football club and a preliminary meeting was held on the steps of the Queen Victoria Memorial Fountain in King George’s Place.

It was decided that those present should form themselves into a committee and convene a meeting as soon as sufficient support could be obtained. After protracted research, as far as can be ascertained those on the said committee were as follows: Messrs: J.M. Dunn, P.S. de Q. Cabot, H.A. Scott, H. Goodwin Jnr, P. Seyb, H. McClatchy and D.A. Lawson.

At this time several prominent Old Boys were members of other clubs and a considerable amount of opposition was encountered. Nothing daunted, however the project was gone on with and the first general meeting was on March 28, 1919, at the Boys’ High School, when it was decided to form a club.

Back row: H. Parker, R. Cook, R. Graham, W. Lawson
Middle row: G.R.M. Jones (President), F. Rasmussen, R. Stewart, E.S. Craven, H. Coxhead, F. Doyle, M. Dunn (Treasurer)
Front row: H. Goodwin, W. Doull, S. Mason (Captain), A. Craven, G. Lawson